I love you.

I love you
because the sun sets over the Brighton sea
and I can watch the stars and think of you
and know you are doing the same

I love you
because my sofa wasn’t delivered on time
and yet you came to my house
and sat on folding camp chairs to eat venison

I love you
because you overlook my hatred of onions
and make me food without them
and only slam the fridge door once

I love you
because you wear £1.50 shirts
bought from a stall in the middle of the street
and never care that they’re awful

I love you
because you admire my calculator watch.

I love you
because you screw your face up
whenever I eat camembert
and won’t kiss me because it lingers

I love you
because you love me just the way I am
and every day I am with you
you make me feel beautiful

I love you
because you let me meet your mother
and you held my hand beneath the table
because I was nervous

I love you
because on a dark Wednesday night
you were told to marry me
and you didn’t run away

I love you
because you are the most perfect person
I think that I have ever seen

I love you
because I was meant to love you
and everything that happens hereon
is absolutely

totally

utterly

meant to be.

Leave a Reply

