“Put a smile on it.”

When I was being mardy
My mum said
“Put a smile on it
You miserable cow.”

So I raised my hand
Gripped the edge of my lips
And pulled.

It was a bit messy.
Bloody
The teeth were especially hard
to pull out
Especially as I only had an old
pair of pliers.

My recreated grin
Looked splendid on the kitchen table.

Painful
But it was worth it
To see the shock on her face
At my doing what she asked.

Through gum and ripped skin
I mouthed
“Was that a bit too literal?”

Leave a Reply

