You.

When life was all about boys
And passing my driving test
And not falling off my bike
And pretending I was sober
In front of my mother

When my biggest worry
Was how I’d pull off tie-dye
Or how I’d get to town on Saturday
Or whether I’d ever meet Green Day

You were important.
You were there.
You were everything.

Now life is all about money
And managing to pay my rent
And not crashing my car
And pretending I am sober
In front of my boss

Now my biggest worry
Is how I’ll stay slim
Or how I’ll get home on Friday
Because I need a day to recover

You might still be important.
But you are not here.
And you cannot be everything.

Leave a Reply

