early mid-life crisis.

I’m halfway to 54;
A miniature milestone.

I remember
singing Vincent under the stars
and eating my first strawberry.
I can recall
the first time I heard
Romeo and Juliet
and
the day I wrote out
all the words to
American Pie
by hand
because the internet didn’t exist

I can think back
to my Walkman
and the days when
I played outside until eight

I recollect
The first day I saw you
and the first thing I said to you –
back then
I thought I was insufferably cool.

I painfully remember
falling off my bike
having stones plucked from my knees
and the day
I fainted at school.
The two broken arms
waking from anaesthetic
and the time
I was dropped on my head.

I see a time deep in the past
when two planes hit two towers
and wars began
and the nation lived in fear

I remember
when I didn’t care for you.

I wish I could return
and see everything again for the first time
But instead
I’ll hold your hand
and pretend that it is so
for with you
the whole world
is
brand
new

Leave a Reply

