empty.

Crossing the threshold
I see that you are
no longer here.

The bookcases lack
the familiar names
that remind me of you;
the wardrobe is anorexic
in its stance; two-thirds
empty.

The fridge bears
no trace of your passion
for cider
and sushi
and pizza
but instead reflects
my own lost appetite.
Empty.

The bed still smells
of you.
I lie face down
and breathe you in;
what was once so full
of joy and hunger and sex
now floats on
the air
solid love turned to
imagination;
I can barely remember
your touch.

Your voice echoes off
the bare walls;
all sense of you
has dissipated
and left me with what
I am
And it has taken until now
for me to understand
that without you
I am
nothing

2 responses to “empty.

  • Dakshi

    “Your voice echoes off
    the bare walls;
    all sense of you
    has dissipated
    and left me with what
    I am
    And it has taken until now
    for me to understand
    that without you
    I am
    nothing”

    lovely….

    • Rebecca Ell

      Thank you – very true for me at the minute, I’m afraid. Losing one you love is very hard; even harder when it is your own fault. But we are intrepid – we carry on!

Leave a Reply

